The Meaning of Moo Duk Kwan -- Institute of Martial Virtue

Moo Duk Kwan Emblem

  1. Laurel Leaves: The 14 laurel leaves on each side represent the fourteen provinces of Korea and the advancement of peace.
  2. Six Seeds: There are three on each side. They indicate the world and represent the six continents on which Tang Soo Do is taught.
  3. The Fist: This represents power and justice.
  4. The Characters: The character located directly under the fist in the circle means "Moo" for Moo Duk Kwan. Moo means "stop conflict". The character to the left of the circle means "Tang" and the character to the right of the circle means "Soo".

As a whole, the emblem symbolizes the spreading of Moo Duk Kwan throughout the world. Moo Duk Kwan is an International institution and symbolizes it's aims to achieve the objectives of peace and human advancement

Animated Koran Flag

Return to History Page

Return to Home Page